Wait, I actually have to do work?

Here’s a little update on the “real” reason I’m here: classes! This was what I mainly did this week, as well as catch up on TV, exploring, and shooting the breeze with the roomz. I think our professors are actually called tutors but I’m just calling them professors, sue me.

Mythologizing Shakespeare: The best anecdote for this class I think involves my conversation with Lucy, our head academic lady (descriptive, I know, but I have no official titles in front of me).

Lucy: So, how have your classes been this week?
Me: Oh good, just some professors are a bit more formal and different than I’ve encountered in America.
Lucy: Oh so you’ve met Brian then?

what have i done???

what have i done???

YES YOU READ MY MIND LUCY! Brian, my prof for this class, is pretty much a Shakespeare genius but this guy is HARSH. Even in America when you don’t get the professors who are nice to you when you get a wrong answer, they still don’t make you feel like a complete idiot. He does. He does not take kindly to getting things wrong either, so I think I may just forgo a good participation grade in this class . . . he also seemed slightly offended when I yawned in class. Dude, I wasn’t out partying I’m just tired! What do you want me to do, leave the room? Le sigh.  I’ll figure it out I’m sure it’s just weird being introduced to a new teaching and learning style.

I’ll end this section with a choice quote from Brian:

“One time in a final essay a student complained that though this class was titled Mythologizing Shakespeare, there were no Greek myths in it.  That was possible on of the most fatuous comments I have ever heard.” (Like okay yes, clearly this class has nothing to do with greek myths, but you have to have heard comments more silly than that and also, who says fatuous in everyday speech.)

picard facepalming

picard facepalming

British Detective Fiction:

Our professor seems quite nice but also had had several teeth removed before our first class so it was difficult to hear her . . . There will be a lot of reading (womp womp) but its easier stuff so I am excited. My class is full of nerds who love BBC and Miss Marple and shit. My parents would feel right at home. Now I just have to get through The Moonstone…

World’s Beyond Oxford:

Our professor is adorable and a Kiwi (not the fruit, she’s from NZ). We spent a lot of time talking about children’s literature which was slightly confusing because we’re reading LOTR. IMHO, LOTR is not children’s literature. So maybe that will have to be clarified.  We’re reading Narnia for next class which I’m excited for mostly because Narnia was so overshadowed for me by HP and LOTR that I never really cared what happened in it; we’ll see if it still sucks or if it has hidden value!

im actually excited doe

im actually excited doe

Writing from the Self:

This is not a creative nonfiction class, contrary to my belief– according to my space cadet professor, you kind of “write whatever the eff you want.” Ummmm ok Rob, as long as there are workshops I don’t really care. He’s a dual citizen of the US and UK but has an American accent so I feel gypped, but he also liked my diagnostic paper so there’s that. I have to a give a presentation on Stephen King next class sooooooo we’ll see how that goes.  Maybe I’ll just talk about his friendship with Aunt Diane.

That’s that! I have 3 books and a play to read so I’m screwed but hey, I can do it. When in Rome.

keep-calm-because-yolo-24

Leave a Reply

