Stonehenge (Yah I did) Salisbury (not steaks) and Lacock! (no laughing)

Disclaimer: I hate it when people who have been to Stonehenge say it isn’t impressive. Sure its not like looming over you but CAVE PEOPLE dragged these BLUE ROCKS over from SOUTH WALES and BUILT SOME COOL SHIT LIKE A TEMPLE OR WHATEVER and it’s still here. ROCK ON, STONEHENGE CREATORS! SHOUTOUT!

Ummm yeah. There were also some swiss people buried there and I guess they visited Stonehenge to get healed because one had bone density problems and the other one was his son or relative and also had similar problems. Snaps for radiocarbon dating! It was really freaking cold at Stonehenge and there were also a ton of Asian tourists (freakin’ duh they’re everywhere.)

Stonehenge, it happened

Stonehenge, it happened

frannz and I at the henge

frannz and I at the henge

 

After that we also went to the town of Salisbury, where Salisbury Cathedral is.  Very pretty and also holds one of the four remaining copies of the Magna Carta. As Ryan Lochte would say, Jeah! We toured the Cathedral with Angela, who was like kinda quiet and also had a flat nose, but it was fun. It was hard for my brain to process a lot bc I was cold but William Golding hung out there a lot and Thomas Hardy based his town of Melchester of of Salisbury. We encountered some small British boys who said “are you Americans” and I said “umm yeah” and they said something indecipherable, but which my roommate Emma assures me was “muggles.” Well then.

El Catedral

El Catedral

closer up

closer up

Cloisters!

Cloisters!

 

Last stop on our day trip was the HISTORIC village of Lacock. Seriously, don’t laugh, because I did and felt bad. It’s pronounced lay-cock which sounds a bit better (maybe?). This is where many period pieces are filmed because you can’t see any telephone wires. (Eg. Cranford, Wolfman, Pride and Prejudice, etc.)

Also: HARRY FREAKING POTTER!!! There’s an abbey which was NOT OPEN during this period but where the Hogwart’s courtyard was filmed for movies 1 and 4 (I thought they were saying 1 in 4 and was confused why we were talking about the rate of rape on college campuses, but realized it was and, not in. My b.) There is also a house used as Godric’s Hollow. HOW. COOL. I wasn’t there but the owner came home a few minutes later and was like mad people were taking pictures of her house. Well maybe you shouldnt’ve let them put it in a movie then.

Lacock Abbey

Lacock Abbey

Godric's Hollow!!

Godric’s Hollow!!

Lastly, we had a traditional “English Roast” dinner, which culminated in a TRIVIA NIGHT! If you know me, you know I love trivia. My team (my flatmates and I, obvi) actually won (which isn’t a shock, but still nice).  There was a tie breaker because we didn’t listen to Fin on question (the Red Lion is the most common name for a pub in England I guess) but we got it right so we won some CHOCOLATE and of course the hate of all our other program mates for being so smart (JK JK to any ASE ppl reading this). On the bus ride back we played the game where you put a celeb on your forehead and then guess. I was George the 6th, Mimi was Pitbull, Fin was scary spice, and Emma was Tom Daley. Pretty well rounded.

This is where we nommed

This is where we nommed

 

 

Leave a Reply

